Things to know about the T20 World Cup 2022



The T20 World Cup 2022 will take place in Australia from October 16 to November 13, 2022. This is the second of two consecutive T20 World Cups, the first being held in the UAE last year. The Women’s World T20 in the West Indies is set for 2020. The current format of the tournament involves ten teams, each playing six matches in a round-robin format, followed by a semifinals and final. The top two teams advance to the Super 10 stage, where they will play a further round-robin.


The teams involved in this tournament are: (Men) West Indies, England, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Australia, New Zealand and India; (Women) Pakistan, Bangladesh, India and New Zealand. The host nation will be decided by the ICC Board in the future.  Australia has been awarded hosting rights after the ICC granted them an extension to its deal with Dubai for hosting Cricket World Cup until 2023.


Some important things to know:


  1. The T20 World Cup is going to be held in Australia for the first time. It will be held from October 16 to November 13, 2022, with all games to take place in the week before Halloween. Australia was awarded hosting rights at the ICC’s annual conference in Barbados last year. This will be Australia’s second time hosting a major international cricket tournament.


  1. Five of the eight Full Members – Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka – will take part in the T20 World Cup. The sixth Full Member is New Zealand and the seventh Full Member is Zimbabwe, who have yet to qualify for this event.


  1. Of three countries never to have hosted a T20I against each other – Bangladesh, England and India – all three will be taking part in this tournament. As mentioned earlier, Australia last hosted a men’s T20I when they hosted Sri Lanka at the SCG during their tour of Australia. England last hosted a men’s T20I against Pakistan when they toured Sri Lanka during the ICC Champions Trophy.


  1. The T20 World Cup is a round-robin tournament, which means each team plays the others once. 12 teams would qualify for the event – the eight Full Members plus four more from a qualification tournament. This qualifying event is likely to feature Ireland, Afghanistan and UAE, as well as two or three Associate Members.


Why do you know the T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule?


The schedule for the T20 World Cup will be released at a later date. However, it will be played in the week before Halloween, which is generally a week of very warm weather. The T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule will take place 3 years after India hosted the inaugural World Cup in 2011 with some 5 weeks to go before Christmas. This is due to Australia and New Zealand having to play their respective ODI series against each other before the start of the tournament. It is planned that the tournament will end on a Sunday, but the start date will be in the middle of October, after the conclusion of Australia’s home summer.


Final Verdict:


So there you have it: the facts regarding the T20 World Cup 2022. The tournament’s organisers have released the ICC T20 World Cup Schedule. There are also a number of exciting contests on the schedule for fans to enjoy. They have an excellent chance of becoming the first team in tournament history to successfully defend their T20 World Cup title. The anticipated demand for tickets to the massive event has already started. They are now available for all 45 T20 World Cup matches, including the championship game.

Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *